Celina Jade
1
All posts from Celina Jade
Celina Jade in Markets at a glance,

TUESDAY, OCT. 7

-The IMF releases its World Economic Outlook report containing forecasts for major advanced and developing nations. Following the release of the report, Olivier Blanchard, the fund’s chief economist, is scheduled to hold a press conference. 09:00 in Washington.

-IMF and World Bank. Click here for full schedule of this week’s annual meetings and related events in Washington.

-The Bank of Japan will announce monetary policy at the end of a two-day meeting in Tokyo. The meeting usually concludes at about midday and is followed by a press conference with Governor Haruhiko Kuroda at 15:30 in Tokyo (02:30 EDT).

-Federal Reserve Bank of New York President William C. Dudley speaks at the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Troy, New York, on the economy. 15:00.

-U.S. Treasury Secretary Jacob J. Lew speaks about the global economy at the Peterson Institute for International Economics. 08:45 in Washington.

-ECB Governing Council member Klaas Knot presents the Dutch central bank’s financial stability report in Amsterdam. 10:00 CET (04:00 EDT).

-ECB Governing Council member Carlos Costa speaks at a conference about auditing, risk and governance in Lisbon. 14:00 local time (09:00 EDT).

-Japan hosts senior defense officials from the Association of Southeast Asian Nations’ member states to discuss cooperation on maritime security equipment and technology. Time to be determined, in Yokohama.

-U.S. Supreme Court and religion. Justices will hear arguments on whether the Arkansas Department of Correction’s grooming policy violates federal law by prohibiting a Muslim prisoner from growing a half-inch beard in accordance with his religious beliefs. 10:00 in Washington.

-CEATEC JAPAN information-technology conference. Speakers include Norio Sasaki, Toshiba Corp. vice chairman and former chief executive officer, and Masami Yamamoto, president of Fujitsu Ltd. Makuhari Messe, near Tokyo. Through Oct. 11.

-Australia’s Bureau of Meteorology publishes its latest predictions for El Nino, which brings dry weather to Southeast Asia and heavier-than-usual rainfall to South America. From 14:00 inMelbourne (00:00 EDT).

-German Finance Minister Wolfgang Schaeuble gives a speech at a gala honoring former U.S. Secretary of State James Baker on the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall. Event starts at 20:00 CET (14:00 EDT) at the American Academy in Berlin.

-U.K. Energy Secretary Ed Davey addresses the Liberal Democrat party’s annual conference at 14:20 in Glasgow, Scotland (09:20 EDT).

-The Bank of Portugal releases data on Portuguese banks, including European Central Bank financing. Time to be determined.

-The International Criminal Court will begin deciding on whether to postpone the trial of Kenyan President Uhuru Kenyatta. 09:00 CET in The Hague (3:00 EDT).

-The U.S. Energy Information Administration publishes its short-term energy outlook and winter fuels outlook. 12:00 in Washington.

-ECONOMY: U.S. consumer credit (Aug.), Taiwan trade balance, imports and exports (Sept.)South Korea household loans (Sept.) and money supply (Aug.), South Africa gross and net reserves (Sept.), South Africa business confidence (Sept.), German industrial production(Aug.), French budget balance (Aug.), U.K. industrial production (Aug.), Swiss foreign-currency reserves (Sept.), Swiss CPI (SZCPIYOY) (Sept.), Swiss retail sales (Aug.), Estonia inflation (ESCPLYOY) (Sept.), Hungary industrial production (Aug.), Czech industrial output(Aug.).

-CENTRAL BANKS: Australia rate decision, Indonesia rate decision.

-EARNINGS: Yum! Brands Inc. (YUM)

via bloomberg